View Larger Map
Home * Geography * History * European Union * News * Tributes
A country 2 live and create..
Local Time:

AREA: 301,230 km2



LANGUAGE: Italian (official)



Roman Catholic (there is a large number of minority religious communities).

Italy is subdivided into 20 regions. Five of these regions have a special autonomous status that enables them to enact legislation on some of their local matters; these are marked by an asterisk (*) in the table below. In parenthesis there are the names of each region’s capital.
Abruzzo (L'Aquila), Aosta Valley* (Aosta), Apulia (Bari), Basilicata (Potenza), Calabria (Catanzaro), Campania (Naples), Emilia-Romagna (Bologna), Friuli-Venezia Giulia* (Trieste), Lazio (Rome), Liguria (Genoa), Lombardy (Milan), Marche (Ancona), Molise (Campobasso), Piedmont (Turin), Sardinia* (Cagliari), Sicily* (Palermo), Tuscany (Florence), Trentino-Alto Adige/Südtirol* (Trento), Umbria (Perugia), Veneto (Venice).

Italy has hot, dry summers, with July being the hottest month of the year. Some regions in the south of Italy can experience no rainfall for the whole summer season. In the north, they experience cold winters often with snow, as compared to mild ones in the south. The long mountain ranges in Italy impact the weather significantly, as you can experience very different weather going from town to town.

1 January - New Year's Day
6 January - Epiphany,
Easter Sunday (date varies from year to year)  
Easter Monday (the day after Easter Sunday)
25 April - Anniversary of the Liberation  
1 May - Labour Day
2 June -Republic Day
15 August - Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary ( Ferragosto )
1 November - All Saints Day
8 December - Immaculate Conception
25 December - Christmas Day
26 December - Boxing Day

Patron Saint's Days in the main Italian cities
The local patron saint's day is generally a local public holiday: offices are closed and a range of events and markets are held. Below is a list of the patron saints of the capital cities of the Italian regions:
29 January - San Costanzo, Perugia (Umbria)
23 April - San Giorgio, Campobasso (Molise)
25 April - San Marco, Venice (Veneto)
4 May - San Ciriaco of Jerusalem, Ancona (Marche)
9 May and 6 December - San Nicola, Bari (Apulia)
30 May - San Gerardo, Potenza (Basilicata)
10 June - San Massimo d'Aveia, L'Aquila (Abruzzo)
24 June - San Giovanni, Genoa (Liguria)
24 June - San Giovanni, Florence (Tuscany)
24 June - San Giovanni, Turin (Piedmont)
26 June - San Vigilio, Trent (Trentino)
29 June - San Pietro, Rome (Lazio)
15 July - Santa Rosalia, Palermo (Sicily)
16 July- San Vitaliano, Catanzaro (Calabria)
7 September - San Grato, Aosta (Aosta Valley)
19 September - San Gennaro, Naples (Campania)
11 luglio - Santa Rosalia, Palermo (Sicilia)
4 October - San Petronio, Bologna (Emilia Romagna)
30 October - San Saturnino, Cagliari (Sardinia)
3 November - San Giusto, Trieste (Friuli Venezia Giulia) 7 December- Sant'Ambrogio, Milan (Lombardy)


Links About Us Contact
Web Design & Development - Istopolis | Copyright 2021 all rights reserved